How and when did I get saved?

I’ve always loved hearing the stories of other Christians, knowing how they got saved. Some of them are so unbelievable and inspiring, and some are simply touching.

Well, mine has been a long process, but looking back now, I can see how God started to work in me for a long time, and how it all led me to where I am now…and above all who I am!

I come from a Catholic background, well, mostly from my dad side. My mom and her family have always been atheist and were never interested in The Lord. I had always been closer to my dad, something that helped me get to know our Lord more. I have to precise that my dad is not a Christian though, none of my family are, but I still pray that one day it will change, that they would turn to our Lord and be saved. Just like The Bible says, I don’t want to see anyone perish and go to Hell, but all to go to Heaven, above all when it is so easy.

So, my dad has never been a believer. He was raised a Catholic, had his baby water baptism, which by the way does not save you or get you to heaven (see The Bible!), his communion… which also does not take you to heaven. My dad was taught the stories of Jesus, his miracles, the betrayal of Judas, David & Goliath…As a child, I loved hearing about all those stories, and I always went to him to ask about it. I wanted to know more about the life of Jesus Christ. I was water baptized as a baby, but again, that did not mean I was saved. Anyway, Satan’s blind can be powerful and I never believed those stories as true, but simply as fairy tales! And then, with time, as I started to grow up, those stories faded and I got more and more anchored in the world and all its deceptions.

Even though I was truly deceived, I can remember that something was always holding me back, as if I was being pulled by the shirt. Something was holding me and stopping me to make very big mistakes (obviously made a lot, sadly!). I had been so down and so much in the dark that I thought at time to end my life, but I couldn’t. Something was telling me to have hope, that something was coming. When I used to do something wrong, I always asked God to forgive me. I don’t know why, I simply felt I had to. Again, I was not saved…not yet!

As a lot of teenagers at the time, I was interested in supernatural things, witchcraft and all those crazy things. I remember reading books about the Wicca, but all this somehow never settled right within me. I read about such and such gods doing this or that for you, and boy, there were so many…and I got thinking and wondered…how could they be so many gods? After a few months, everything went down the trash. Why? Because deep down in my heart there was a huge collision, deep down I knew there was only one God, one true God, and I could not believe about all those fake gods. They were simply not real! I tried to believe though, but no…God was holding me tight and I thank Him for that.

As a young adult, I lived in the darkness, totally following the world. I moved to England where I spent four years, too much drinking, immorality, sins, choices I regret now, but again, all my choices have led me here, to who I am now, so in some ways, I can’t really regret my past.

My third and fourth year in England where the darkest of my life, kept on drinking, going out…but still, in that darkness, there was light. I tried then to change my lifestyle. I joined a gym and started running, which made me feel so good and free, probably the best thing ever lol One day, I went to the gym and crossed path with a strange young man. Why strange? Well, he looked unusual for the people around, bold (shaved), but in his twenties. He was much opened and started to talk to me. I found out that he was a Christian missionary from the United States, New Jersey, if I remember well. He was just in our town for a few months to help in a Christian church. I was a happy sinner, content in my sinful life, but something from that point changed. I saw something in that young man (can’t remember his name) that I loved, something that I wanted for my life too. He had that love surrounding him (later found out it was from God’s :)), that healthy lifestyle, undeniable trust and faith in God, but above all a great morality, thing I was lacking back then!

Not even a year later, I was back to France, trying to get my life back on track, wanting to settle down and find myself. I started to realize all my mistakes, but again the sinner within me was trying to fight back. I can call it that “old self”.

That same year, I went with some friends to a Catholic church for Christmas (France is Catholic, hardly any Christians at all!). As I listened to the priest doing his sermons, something felt wrong. I remember, I kept looking around to statues of Jesus and the Virgin Mary, all over the church (I learned later, they were only idols) and I didn’t feel at ease. Actually, I remember thinking “What are you doing here? Get out of here!” But I didn’t and stayed until the end. My friends went up to the front to take the “blood and flesh” of Christ as they call it. I looked at them with a smile and responded “No thanks, I’m good!” I was inside a Catholic church but there was no way I was going to take part of that ritual.

I was left with a conflicting feeling. More and more, I could feel God working in my life, I could see that I was changing, that I was trying to get somewhere, but where was that? I was kind of lost. In a way, I was looking for God, but why could not I feel Him in a Catholic church? Why wasn’t I satisfied hearing the priest talking? By the way, that was the first time in five years that I went to a Catholic church.

I was trying to build my life back in France and it wasn’t easy. I had been away for four years, so many things were different, the friends I had from high school had moved away, or were not in touch anymore. My family had changed too, a lot had happened in each of their lives.  I found myself weak and alone. 2 Corinthians 12:9-10 says “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in infirmities, in reproaches, in necessities, in persecutions, in distresses for Christ’s sake: for when I am weak, then am I strong.”

That’s when God decided to arrive in my life, in a form of a young man I had never seen before, a man I would have never in a million years thought would be destined to me! But God has His own ways and His own will.

At that time, I was writing my first novel, well started to. I was choosing some characters for that novel. I wanted the names to have a meaning. Therefore, I looked over the internet to find meaningful names. My main characters were chosen, and then, as I looked for my second characters, I found that name “Joshua”. Funny enough, I had always liked that name, I don’t know why, but it sounded familiar…call it destiny! Anyway, Joshua sounded good and it meant “salvation” which seemed meaningful enough, even though I did not really know the true meaning of salvation myself!

There was Joshua, introduced to my novel. I’m not sure how long after, perhaps the day after, or two or three days, I was online at my break at work, when someone called “Joshua Thomas” contacted me, well his name popped up on my page. I was stated as single, and honestly, lots of men kept popping up and I was always ignoring them. I would have ignored him too if it wasn’t for his name or shall I say for the weird timing that someone called Joshua would try to contact me when I just chose that name the day before! Curiosity took hold of me and we started to talk, sent messages to get to know each other. He was a Christian from the West Coast in the United States. I’ve always loved talking to people from different countries and backgrounds, so I took it as an opportunity to get to know someone so far away from me. But in fact, we were truly close. We had about the same past, the same things happened to each other, and we loved the same things. We talked a lot about Catholic and Christian beliefs on Skype, and that’s when he introduced me to The Bible. I had never read it before.

There it was! The truth I had been waiting for, for such a long time. As he read The Bible to me and some Bible Studies together, my blind was off. I could finally see. It was a bliss! I had found God, finally. I didn’t wait for hell to catch up to me and gave myself to our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ that same day. It was beginning of March 2009. I was SAVED and for the first time in forever, I felt free, I was free. Truly, Amazing Grace! 😀 (see the song!)

Since then, my only food is The Bible, knowing the word of God, getting to know my Savior, praying and trying to be more like Him. I can’t be thankful enough for The Lord, for saving me, for using, who then became my husband, to save my soul. I know that nothing is impossible through God and that everyone can be saved.

To get back to that missionary that I met in England, I understand better now what I felt back then, because just like The Bible says, once we are saved, we are born again, we become a new person. When people look at you, they can see our Lord living within you, in your heart, they can see the changes, in your lifestyle, in your conversations…and I have too.

I was saved when I was 26. It’s only been five years and I still consider myself as a young Christian who needs to learn so much. I learn everyday something new, every day the Holy Spirit guides me and opens my eyes. I know that I would never ever be able to live without my Lord and Savior. Our Lord Jesus Christ comes first in our lives, before my family, my husband and children, because our Lord is the anchor to our wedding (marriage takes three!) an anchor to our family. I have changed so much in five years, I’ve become something new, and sadly, it has been the reason why I’ve lost so much once I became a Christian. I lost almost all my friends from high school and others, even the ones I thought were best friends, I lost family members who preferred turning away from my family. Why? Because they don’t want to have anything to do with a Christian believer, with someone who reads The Bible, with someone who is saved and tries to lead a Christian life. That has hurt me a lot and still does, but I’d rather be alone with my Lord and Savior, than having hundreds of friends but be lost, wandering, sinning and be doomed to go to hell! The Bible tells us that being a Christian is not easy, but the reward is worth everything. Now, I know that there is only one true God, and that there is one way to get to Heaven and that is through our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. That is why The Bible says in Matthew 7:13-14: “Enter ye in at the strait gate: for wide is the gate, and broad is the way, that leadeth to destruction, and many there be which go in thereat: Because strait is the gate, and narrow is the way, which leadeth unto life, and few there be that find it.” And it is true, narrow is the path that leads to Heaven because so many are deceived, thinking they can go to Heaven just by water baptism, or through another god that does not exist (Jesus rose and He’s alive). I remember reading on one of my friend’s post, something like: “That’s why there is a stairway to Heaven and Highway to Hell!” (worldly songs) and this is so true!

I’m a new person, even though my old self is still there, I keep on fighting against her every day (see Romans chapter 7 about Paul’s struggles too) but thanks to my Lord, my sins have been forgiven, I have been saved through grace.

God sent his son to die on the cross, that by His blood I am redeemed. Jesus Christ have paid the price for my sins. I was guilty but He took my place and sacrificed Himself for me, because He loves me, just like He loves you. John 3:16 “For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life.”

Therefore, through God, I’ve found my Joshua, my Salvation.

Here is a link below on how to be saved, if you are not yet. I pray that the ones of you reading that post and who are not saved, read how you can be, and not call it a day. Everyone can die tomorrow, our lives here are too short, but eternity isn’t…don’t wait!

Ephesians 2:8-9: “For by grace are ye saved through faith; and that not of yourselves: it is the gift of God: Not of works, lest any man should boast.”

How to be saved: http://www.gotquestions.org/how-can-I-be-saved.html

Do not forget, once you get saved, read your Bible daily. It’s important to know God’s words, to be wiser, to have knowledge, and to defend yourself against the spiritual attacks. I would advise the King James Version, to me, it’s the best version out there. Also important, have a relationship with our Lord through prayers, because becoming a Christian is not a religion, it is a relationship with God. If you like watching movies, please watch “Passion of The Christ”, “Fireproof”, “Facing the Giants”, and some more like “Left Behind”, “Courageous”.

Keep the faith,

Love,

N.M.

ImageImage

Image

About N. M. Thomas

I was born in the West of France, a region I like a lot. We moved around a lot with my parents and ended up in Paris area when I was five. I lived around Paris area until I was twenty one and decided to move to England to improve my English (yes, just like that!) It wasn't easy to be in a country and a part of Britain itself (East Yorkshire)where I could not understand people talking to me. The accent was so important that it took me about a year to become fluent. I stayed there for four years and decided to go back home to Paris. I met my husband, who is American, and finally, only stayed just over a year in France as we moved to the United States. I've always loved literature and foreign languages. I speak fluent French and English, and know some Russian, Italian, Spanish and German. I started to write poems when I was a teenager. My dad actually influenced me a lot, he used to write beautiful poems in French (and I keep telling him he should publish them!)So, I carried on writing poems until I decided to start writing books. I've got two amazing children who keep me on my toes all day long so I only get some time to write at night, but I would not change that for the whole world! And I find inspirations from the music I listen, Lifehouse, Casting Crows, Fireflight and others, but also and mainly from instrumental music, original movie soundtracks (those I love!)
This entry was posted in Christian posts and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

