What is a Happy Marriage?

I went across a post that I wanted to share with you all.

Marriage is the base of everything. To be honest, I didn’t know about marriage until I met my husband, and above all, until I started reading The Bible. Thankfully, God gives all the instructions, which helps a lot. We know that our marriage would not work properly or not as good, without The Lord Jesus Christ as our anchor. Again, I said it before, but Marriage takes three so it can work well. 

Anyway, everyone has wondered: What is a happy wife? What is a happy marriage? How can I know?

This below is from a post onModernMarried.com (its creator, Maggie Reyes) entitled The Definition of Modern Marriage.

I hope you will enjoy it as much as I did!

Keep Faith,

Love, 

N.M.

Image

 

Let’s start with a scandalous declaration shall we?  The definition of a happy marriage is…there is none.

There isn’t one way to fold sheets, or climb mountains, or be a wife.  There is only your way.  And my way, and his way and her way.  There is no wrong way either.

What’s absolutely perfect for me – blogging, making travel plans with the hubs, having an alarm that says “kiss your wife” on his phone that makes us laugh every night – has nothing to do with what is perfect for you.

And that’s okay.

We cause ourselves so much pain by thinking and believing that we have to live up to our (divorced) Auntie’s idea of marriage or my great grandmother’s ideal relationship.

We really don’t.

What we need to do is find what happiness and integrity means to us.  And then do that.

Define what love means to us.  And then be that.

Brenè Brown says vulnerability is your greatest strength.

I say marriage makes you vulnerable and strong. It brings out the best and worst in you and then it changes you in ways you could have never expected.  For the better.

I tell everyone I know we need to re-define marriage.  Together as a society.  Individually as couples. Every day.

Nate Bagley with Loveumentary.com asked me recently if I could only give one piece of advice and never write another article ever again, what would I say. 

My answer?

Question your assumptions. 

Leave yourself open to interpretation.  Let life surprise you.  Question your assumptions.  So you can learn.  And teach.  So your mind can be broken open and your heart can overflow with awe.

Question your assumptions about what your husband should or should not do or what your marriage should or should not be.

Listen with love.

Question your idea of who you should be.  What is a wife?

It’s whoever you say you are.  It is your husband’s closest friend and confidant.  It is who you need to be for him, God and yourself.

Savor the freedom of knowing that if you didn’t like the wife you were yesterday, you can start again today.

And tomorrow.

And the next day.

You can make your marriage sacred.  And soulful.  And funny.  And kind.

You can choose every day to look for the love.  And find it.

Marriage is a choice we make every day.

Choose to make it your own.

Whatever that means.

And declare it wonderful.

Or at the very least – custom-made.  Just for you.  Everyday.

Like a Love-Latte. 

The definition of a happy marriage is, there is none.

What is your definition of a happy marriage?  Please share in the comments.

 

 

About N. M. Thomas

I was born in the West of France, a region I like a lot. We moved around a lot with my parents and ended up in Paris area when I was five. I lived around Paris area until I was twenty one and decided to move to England to improve my English (yes, just like that!) It wasn't easy to be in a country and a part of Britain itself (East Yorkshire)where I could not understand people talking to me. The accent was so important that it took me about a year to become fluent. I stayed there for four years and decided to go back home to Paris. I met my husband, who is American, and finally, only stayed just over a year in France as we moved to the United States. I've always loved literature and foreign languages. I speak fluent French and English, and know some Russian, Italian, Spanish and German. I started to write poems when I was a teenager. My dad actually influenced me a lot, he used to write beautiful poems in French (and I keep telling him he should publish them!)So, I carried on writing poems until I decided to start writing books. I've got two amazing children who keep me on my toes all day long so I only get some time to write at night, but I would not change that for the whole world! And I find inspirations from the music I listen, Lifehouse, Casting Crows, Fireflight and others, but also and mainly from instrumental music, original movie soundtracks (those I love!)
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What is a Happy Marriage?

  1. Hi! just came across this from a ping on my website. Thanks so much for sharing! I am always delighted when someone is inspired by something I wrote. Big Electronic Hug!

Leave a Reply

