The Past…Acknowledge it, Live with it or Forget it?

The past is an interesting subject. We all have one, that we remember it or not. The main question is: would you rather not remember any of it or simply accept it and live with it?

The past has different forms. First, it is history, what you learn from the past in general when you open your history book. Second, the past is personnel, it is the one you can see if you turn around. It was yesterday.

In my book series “The Guardians of Hayden”, the theme of the Past is recurrent and ask important questions about our existence, about what we are to do with the past we have. What if your past was made up and you were not the person you thought you were? What if the truth about your past destroy you? What if it could make you free? I don’t want to spoil the story of my novels, therefore, I won’t get into details, but I do believe that knowing our past, personnel and in general, is important to our existence. Each person’s past is different, sometimes quite close; whatever it is, it can’t be ignored. We all made mistakes that we regret or not, as bad as they can be, but no matter what lies behind us, it is worth knowing, accepting, and looking forward.

For a long time, I had tried to forget parts of my personnel past that I could not accept, parts I didn’t want to have. So, I chose to ignore them, sometimes trying to make up better ones. I was simply trying to put them as far away as I could, hoping that one day, I would forget…Obviously, that option only last a while, and eventually, at one point or another, everything always comes back to haunt us and to make us suffer…heartaches some call them.

You can ask: what changed me? Well, I started seeing the truth once I became saved, once my Lord and Savior Jesus Christ came into my heart. He totally freed me, forgiven all my mistakes, forgiven my past. Sometimes, the pain or heartache of my past tries to come back to make me stumble, to make me weak,  but my God has made me strong, stronger than I could ever imagine. So, when that happens, I fight back, because the past is the past. I have worked into facing everything I went through and done, I’ve accepted all of it so I can then look ahead to the present and the future.

However, one thing is for sure: I would not be the person I am today without that past, good and bad memories, wrong and right doings. They all define me as being me. Certainly, I wish things would have been different, a lot of them, but then, I would not be who I am today, I probably would not have met my wonderful husband and have amazing, loving children, so no…I can’t have regrets. I know my past, but this is not the place I chose to dwell in. I chose to dwell in my Lord and the life He has planned for me, and that life is not behind me but ahead of me. Johnny Cash said “You build on failure. You use it as a stepping stone. Close the door on the past. You don’t try to forget the mistakes, but you don’t dwell on it. You don’t let it have any of your energy, or any of your time, or any of your space”

So, do I acknowledge my past and live with it? Yes. Do I want to forget it? No, because I want to remember the mistakes I made so I would never make them again. Actually, we all make mistakes, maybe not every day but we do. Tomorrow is certainly another day, but I want to remember so I can be a better person, so I can go forward being a new me. George Washington wisely said: “We should not look back unless it is to derive useful lessons from past errors, and for the purpose of profiting by dearly bought experience.”

One of the most important thing about the past is to never look behind when you go forward. Why is that? Because that can either slow you down or destroy you. The main story that comes to my mind is the fate of Lot’s wife. As the Angels of The Lord came to rescue Lot, his wife and two daughters from Sodom & Gomorrah, they tell them to walk ahead but never look back as God was going to destroy both of those sinful cities…Lot’s wife didn’t listen and looked back, and she was destroyed too, changed into a pillar of salt.

The past is only an echo of ourselves, of what we’ve been through. We have no place to dwell in there. Some see the past as better place because their present is not what they want or wished for themselves, and they can’t see the future ahead of us. That is a dangerous place to dwell in, both for your present and future. You have a greater help through Jesus Christ. He is the one holding His hand, ready to get you out of the water and show you, your present and future. He will secure your eternity, through Him, you will be free. There is no better feeling, believe me. 🙂

Our history is important, to know where we come from, our countries, our ancestors. The Bible itself is such a great conserved part of our history that we need to study and know. Just like our past, when you look back sometimes, you feel like it was all defined, like a puzzle that is starting to take form. God only knows what is ahead of us, He’s the one who has planned it all…and His plans are always perfect. All we need to do is have faith and trust as that whole puzzle takes life and the bigger picture appears in front of our eyes. The Bible says that we are as runners who need to finish our race, to keep the faith and never stop to go forward. How are we supposed to win the race if we keep on looking back or even go backward? The biggest prize is at the end of the race, at the finish line…

Here are a few scriptures to share with you:

1 John 1:9 – If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us [our] sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.

2 Corinthians 5:17 – Therefore if any man [be] in Christ, [he is] a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new.

PHILIPPIANS 3:13-14 BRETHREN, I COUNT NOT MYSELF TO HAVE APPREHENDED: BUT [THIS] ONE THING [I DO], FORGETTING THOSE THINGS WHICH ARE BEHIND, AND REACHING FORTH UNTO THOSE THINGS WHICH ARE BEFORE, I PRESS TOWARD THE MARK FOR THE PRIZE OF THE HIGH CALLING OF GOD IN CHRIST JESUS.

Galatians 2:20 – I am crucified with Christ: nevertheless I live; yet not I, but Christ liveth in me: and the life which I now live in the flesh I live by the faith of the Son of God, who loved me, and gave himself for me.

 

Let me know your comments below on what you do with your past? How you deal with it?

Keep the Faith,

N.M.

ImageImageImage

About N. M. Thomas

I was born in the West of France, a region I like a lot. We moved around a lot with my parents and ended up in Paris area when I was five. I lived around Paris area until I was twenty one and decided to move to England to improve my English (yes, just like that!) It wasn't easy to be in a country and a part of Britain itself (East Yorkshire)where I could not understand people talking to me. The accent was so important that it took me about a year to become fluent. I stayed there for four years and decided to go back home to Paris. I met my husband, who is American, and finally, only stayed just over a year in France as we moved to the United States. I've always loved literature and foreign languages. I speak fluent French and English, and know some Russian, Italian, Spanish and German. I started to write poems when I was a teenager. My dad actually influenced me a lot, he used to write beautiful poems in French (and I keep telling him he should publish them!)So, I carried on writing poems until I decided to start writing books. I've got two amazing children who keep me on my toes all day long so I only get some time to write at night, but I would not change that for the whole world! And I find inspirations from the music I listen, Lifehouse, Casting Crows, Fireflight and others, but also and mainly from instrumental music, original movie soundtracks (those I love!)
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

